
KEY TAKEAWAYS
- Veterans Day 2026 falls on Wednesday, November 11. Most free-meal offers run that day only, at participating locations, and almost all are dine-in.
- As of October 20, 2026, two national chains have posted 2026 offers on their own sites: Chili’s (free meal from a limited dine-in menu) and Golden Corral (free dinner, 4 p.m. to close).
- Most chains announce in the first week of November. Last year’s list included Applebee’s, Denny’s, IHOP, Olive Garden, Outback, Red Lobster, Shake Shack, Starbucks and Texas Roadhouse; none of those has confirmed 2026 details yet.
- Bring proof of service even when the offer does not ask for it. A VA Veteran ID Card, a VA health card, a veteran-designated driver’s license or a DD-214 copy covers nearly every restaurant.
- Veterans Day is also a National Park Service fee-free day in 2026, and veterans qualify for a free lifetime park pass that works every other day of the year too.
- Veterans Day 2026 Offers Confirmed So Far
- Offered in 2025, Not Yet Confirmed for 2026
- What to Bring: Proof of Service That Works
- Who Qualifies for Veterans Day Deals
- The Fine Print That Trips People Up
- Free and Discounted Beyond Restaurants
- Year-Round Military Discounts Worth More Than One Meal
- Frequently Asked Questions
Veterans Day 2026 lands on a Wednesday, which means most free meals will be served on a regular weeknight rather than a holiday weekend. The offers themselves follow a familiar pattern: one free entrée from a short menu, dine-in only, at participating locations, on November 11. What changes year to year is which chains take part and what they ask you to show at the register. This page separates the offers each company has actually posted for 2026 from the ones that ran in 2025 and have not been announced yet, so you know which to plan around. We check every company’s own page weekly through Veterans Day. Last checked: October 20, 2026.
Veterans Day 2026 Offers Confirmed So Far
An offer goes in this table only when the company’s own website shows the 2026 date. A news article, a franchise Facebook post or last year’s flyer does not count, because those are exactly the sources that send veterans to a restaurant that is not participating.
| Company | 2026 offer | When | Who qualifies | Restrictions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chili’s | Free meal from a limited menu: Chicken Crispers, Chicken Bacon Ranch Quesadillas, Oldtimer with Cheese, or Soup & House Salad | Wed., Nov. 11, 2026 | Veterans and active-duty military | Dine-in only at participating restaurants. No substitutions, can’t be combined with other offers, beverages and gratuity not included |
| Golden Corral | Free “thank you” dinner at the Military Appreciation event | Wed., Nov. 11, 2026, 4 p.m. to close | Anyone who has served: veterans, retirees, active duty, National Guard and Reserve | Family and friends pay regular prices. No takeout, no rain checks |
Chili’s does not state what proof of service it accepts, so call your location before you go. Golden Corral moves its Military Appreciation event to Veterans Day evening; if your local restaurant runs it differently, its own staff will know. Our Golden Corral veterans discount guide covers the chain’s year-round policy.
We will add each chain to this table as its own page posts the 2026 date. Most national chains announce between November 1 and November 6.
Offered in 2025, Not Yet Confirmed for 2026
These are the offers that ran on Veterans Day 2025. Most of these chains repeat every year, but menus, hours and eligibility change, and a chain can sit a year out. Treat this list as a guide to who to watch, not a promise of what will be served.
| Company | What it offered in 2025 | 2025 conditions reported | 2026 status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Applebee’s | Free meal from a select menu | Veterans and active duty | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Blaze Pizza | Free 11-inch one-topping pizza | Not stated | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Bob Evans | Free meal from a select menu | Not stated | Reported as returning; not yet verified on bobevans.com |
| Chipotle | Buy one, get one free entrée, 4–8 p.m. | Valid military ID, in person | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Cracker Barrel | Free Sunrise Pancake Special | Not stated | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Denny’s | Free Original Grand Slam, 5 a.m. to noon | Military ID or DD-214 | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Dunkin’ | Free donut | Not stated | No 2026 announcement yet |
| IHOP | Free Red, White & Blueberry pancake combo | Not stated | No 2026 details yet |
| Krispy Kreme | Free small coffee and doughnut | Not stated | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Olive Garden | Free meal from a select menu | Not stated | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Outback Steakhouse | Free three-course meal | Valid military ID | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Red Lobster | Free Shrimp & Chips meal | Valid military ID | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Red Robin | Free Red’s Big Tavern Burger with bottomless side | Not stated | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Shake Shack | Free Big Shack burger | Valid military ID | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Starbucks | Free tall hot brewed coffee, military spouses included | Not stated | No 2026 announcement yet |
| Texas Roadhouse | Meal voucher | Not stated | No 2026 details yet |
Several of these chains have their own pages on this site with more detail on how the offer has worked in past years: Starbucks Veterans Day free coffee, Texas Roadhouse’s veteran discount and voucher, In-N-Out on Veterans Day and Chicken Salad Chick’s Veterans Day meal.
Vouchers instead of a meal on the day
Texas Roadhouse has handed out meal vouchers rather than serving a free meal on November 11 itself, which lets you skip the crowd and use it later. If a chain uses a voucher, the expiration date printed on it is the one that matters, not Veterans Day. Photograph the voucher when you get it; a lost one is rarely replaced.
What to Bring: Proof of Service That Works
Most restaurants leave proof of service to the manager on duty, which is why the same chain can wave one veteran through and ask the next for ID. Carry one of the following and the question never comes up.
- VA Veteran ID Card (VIC). Free from VA for any veteran with an honorable or general discharge. It exists precisely for discounts and takes a few weeks to arrive, so apply well before next November.
- VA Health Identification Card (VHIC). Issued to veterans enrolled in VA health care, and accepted almost everywhere as proof of service.
- Veteran designation on your state driver’s license or ID. Every state offers it. It is the easiest option because it is already in your wallet.
- Military ID. Active-duty, Guard, Reserve and retiree cards all work. Dependent ID cards generally do not qualify the cardholder for veteran-only offers.
- DD-214. A copy works, and a photo on your phone usually does too. Black out your Social Security number before you hand it to anyone.
- Wearing a uniform. Some restaurants accept it, but it is the least reliable option and the one most likely to start a conversation at the counter.
If you have none of these, our guides on how to verify your veteran status and getting a veteran ID and proof of service walk through each option. If you need a copy of your discharge papers, start with how to request your DD-214, which can take weeks, so it is not a Veterans Day-week errand.
Online deals use a verification service
Retail and online offers rarely ask for a card. Instead, they verify you through a third-party service such as ID.me, SheerID or WeSalute, which checks your status against government records once and then lets you reuse the verification. Set up an account before Veterans Day week; verification can stall when it needs a document upload, and the sale may be over before it clears.
Who Qualifies for Veterans Day Deals
Each company sets its own rules, and the wording matters. “Veterans and active-duty military” is the most common phrasing. Golden Corral spells out a wider net: anyone who has served, including retirees and members of the National Guard and Reserve.
- Veterans: included in nearly every offer, regardless of era or length of service.
- Active duty: included in nearly every offer.
- National Guard and Reserve: usually included, but where an offer says “veterans and active duty” only, a drilling Guard member who has never been activated may be asked for more proof. Bring your military ID.
- Retirees: included as veterans.
- Spouses and family: usually not included. Starbucks extended its 2025 coffee to military spouses, which is unusual. Assume family members pay unless the offer says otherwise.
- Gold Star families: rarely named in restaurant offers, but included in some federal benefits, such as the free lifetime national park pass.
The Fine Print That Trips People Up
Most disappointment on Veterans Day comes from a few conditions that appear in nearly every offer. None of them is hidden; they are just easy to skim past.
“Participating locations” is doing real work
Franchise restaurants can opt out of a national promotion, and airport, mall-food-court and travel-plaza locations often do. A two-minute phone call to the specific location saves you a wasted drive. Ask directly: “Are you honoring the Veterans Day free meal on November 11, and what do you need to see?”
Dine-in only, and the clock matters
Free meals are almost always dine-in. Several chains also limit the hours: Golden Corral serves from 4 p.m. to close, and in 2025 Denny’s ran its offer from 5 a.m. to noon and Chipotle from 4 to 8 p.m. Lunch and early-dinner rushes on November 11 run long, so go early or late if you can.
Drinks and tip are on you
Beverages are usually excluded, as Chili’s states plainly. Your server is working the busiest shift of the year serving meals that are free to you but not to them, and they are paid partly in tips. Tip on what the meal would have cost.
Limited menu, one per person
The free item comes from a short list, usually four to seven entrées, with no substitutions and no combining with other coupons. The offer is one per veteran. Bringing family is welcome; their meals are full price.
Free and Discounted Beyond Restaurants
National parks
Veterans Day, November 11, is one of the National Park Service’s fee-free days in 2026, so entrance fees are waived at parks that charge them. Veterans don’t need to wait for it: veterans and Gold Star families qualify for a free lifetime America the Beautiful pass that covers entrance fees at every national park and federal recreation site. Our free national park pass for veterans guide explains how to get it and what it covers. Check nps.gov for the specific park, since some fees, such as camping and tours, are not covered on fee-free days.
Haircuts
Sport Clips gave free haircuts to veterans and active-duty service members at participating locations on Veterans Day 2025. It has not posted 2026 details yet. Expect long lines; the stores that participate are often booked by mid-morning.
Retail Veterans Day sales
Retailers tend to run Veterans Day promotions as an extra discount for verified military customers, often for the week rather than the day. We will add 2026 retail offers here as they are posted. In the meantime, several big retailers already give a standing military discount year-round, which usually matters more than a one-day sale. See our guides to the Lowe’s veteran discount, the Home Depot military discount and the Kohl’s veteran discount for how each one works and who qualifies.
Year-Round Military Discounts Worth More Than One Meal
A free entrée once a year is a nice gesture. The discounts that actually move a household budget are the ones you can use every week. If Veterans Day is the day you set up your verifications, it can pay off for the rest of the year.
Want updates when benefit rates change?
Join thousands of service members who get our free weekly briefing.
By subscribing you agree to receive email from USMilitary.org and Military.net. Unsubscribe anytime. We don't sell your email address or give it to anyone for their marketing. Privacy Policy.
- Home improvement: standing military discounts at the major home centers, covered in the Lowe’s and Home Depot guides.
- Travel: airline, hotel, park and rental-car savings are collected in our military and veteran travel discounts guide.
- Member shopping portals: USAA’s MemberShop bundles retailer discounts for members.
- The full list: our military discounts guide explains how to find and use military pricing across retail, dining and services.
If you are tracking down every benefit you have earned, the discount programs are the smallest part of it. State benefits, from property tax exemptions to free hunting and fishing licenses, are worth far more, and they are covered state by state in our veteran benefits by state guides.
RELATED READING
Military and Veteran Travel Discounts 2026 →
Airline, hotel, park and rental-car savings you can use well beyond Veterans Day.
Most Veterans Day offers leave family out. Here is what spouses and children do qualify for.
Property tax exemptions, free licenses and education benefits worth far more than a free meal.
Frequently Asked Questions
Usually, yes. Most restaurants serve anyone who shows a military ID, and Golden Corral names the National Guard and Reserve explicitly in its 2026 offer. Where an offer says only “veterans and active duty,” bring your military ID and expect the manager to decide. Calling the location ahead removes the guesswork.
Generally not. Veterans Day restaurant offers are one per veteran or service member, and family members pay regular prices. Starbucks included military spouses in its 2025 free coffee, which is the main exception. If the offer’s own wording doesn’t mention spouses, assume it doesn’t cover them.
A veteran designation on your driver’s license, a VA Veteran ID Card, a VA health care card or a military or retiree ID all work at most restaurants. A photo of your DD-214 on your phone is usually accepted as well. If you have none of these, apply for the free VA Veteran ID Card now; it takes weeks to arrive.
Almost never. Chili’s 2026 offer is dine-in only, and Golden Corral rules out takeout. The free meal is built around coming in on the day. Chains that hand out vouchers instead, as Texas Roadhouse has, are the closest you will get to using the offer on your own schedule.
The confirmed 2026 offers from Chili’s and Golden Corral both run on Wednesday, November 11, itself. A few chains run Veterans Day promotions across several days or give vouchers for later, but that is the exception. Plan for a weeknight and check each chain’s own page for its 2026 date.
Because it hasn’t posted 2026 details on its own website yet, and we only list an offer as confirmed when it has. Most national chains announce in the first week of November. Its 2025 offer is in the not-yet-confirmed table above, and we update this page weekly through Veterans Day.
This article is provided by USMilitary.org, an independent educational resource. We are not affiliated with the Department of Defense, VA, the National Park Service, or any company listed here, and no company paid to be included. Offers are set by each company and can change or vary by location; confirm with the company or your local restaurant before you go.